FALL VICTIM TO MY RAMBLINGS: OC EDITION

.: NAVIGATION :.

Home
About
Art
Music
Blog
Comms
>Devlog<
Profile
Ko-Fi
Back

January 24, 2024

15 out of 90 songs done for GoA's soundtrack now!
On the topic of the soundtrack, I decided to add 10 more old songs I had lying around because Why Not, and now the total number of songs is 100. On the bright side, though, since those 10 songs were already done, I have 25 out of 100 songs done!

All I really have to do is make some leitmotifs for area themes and cutscene themes, and then turn those leitmotifs into, uhh... anywhere between 60 and 75 fully fledged songs. And I still have a handful of battle themes left to make, too.
Why do I keep doing this to myself hhhhhhhhh

But hey, I'm still a quarter of the way there! Always look on the bright side, right?




January 19, 2024

Found another old song on my hard drive and repurposed it into four different versions of a file select theme for GoA, bringing me up to 14 out of 90 songs done! AND if you count loops, thanks to the file select themes, I officially have a half hour's worth of music done for the game!!




January 18, 2024

So, last night, I was putting together a list of songs I wanted to make for GoA, and uhh...
IT ENDED UP BEING 90 SONGS LONG.
I'VE ONLY FINISHED 10 SO FAR.
Granted, most of those 90 songs are area themes that I can just change the vibes of while keeping the same leitmotifs, BUT STILL. 90 SONGS IS A LOT.

Damn me and my insistence on going big or going home hgnjkfdgbj




January 11, 2024

Last minute update before I head to bed for the night: I just finished touching up one of my OCs' designs! Here she is!

A black woman with pink eyes, curly, dark brown hair with bangs covering her right eye, and a long ponytail. She's wearing a white, short-sleeve cropped jacket with yellow highlights over a black, long-sleeve shirt with VERY baggy sleeves, a pair of equally baggy dark gray sweatpants with yellow highlights, and white shoes with light gray soles.

I won't go into a lot of details, but her name is Camellia! She's a trans woman, one of the main characters in GoA, and my very first OC! I made her all the way back in October of 2015, which, uhh... GOD, I feel old now gnjbfdkg

I've honestly lost count of how many times I've changed her design since 2015 (seriously, her current design and her first design have literally NOTHING in common), but I am SUPER happy with her current design. To give you an idea of how much her design has changed over the years: Her first design had pasty-white skin, white hair, and purple eyes. Yeah, she was VERY much a "Baby's First OC" back then. I changed her eye color from purple to pink after a year or two, but I don't think I changed her skin tone and hair color to what they are now until... like, 2020, I wanna say? I honestly just thought she looked better with darker skin and hair.

She wasn't even trans at first, either. I wanna say it was sometime after I discovered I was trans that I decided to make her trans, too. Reason A: My brain was just like "why not", and reason B: I wanted to give black trans folks some representation. Seriously, when's the last time you saw a black trans woman (or ANY BIPOC trans/non-binary/GNC person in general, for that matter) in a lead role in a video game?

(Knowing how behind I am with indie games, though, there's probably been at least a few cool indie games with a black trans character in a lead role and I just haven't heard about them yet.)

And on that note, I want to make sure she's written well, and that she's not a case of bad representation. And seeing as how I'm literally neon white, I'm honestly REALLY scared I'm gonna mess something up. SO, if any black trans folks are reading this, if you wanna give me some suggestions on how she should be written, my email is gigabowser21@gmail.com! Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!




January 5, 2024

...My brain can be truly irritating sometimes lol

I had the idea of merging ALL of my game ideas into a single game, and while that would take a MASSIVE amount of work (not to mention the list of party members would be absolutely GIGANTIC, and I feel like that'd make balancing them all and making them all feel unique a NIGHTMARE), I can't say I dislike the idea.

It could be something like Live-A-Live (I think) or Final Fantasy VI where there's multiple storylines going on at the same time, but they're all part of the same game. Plus, it'd probably allow me to condense what would've been SEVERAL different soundtracks into just one. And maybe during the endgame, all of the different parties end up meeting each other, and they ALL have to work together to take down the final boss because they're so RIDICULOUSLY strong that you'd canonically NEED what essentially amounts to a small platoon to take them down?

...That was a VERY long run-on sentence, I apologize. ANYWAY, the more I think about this, the more I'm starting to like it. The only thing I can think of that might not go over well is that the battle system might end up getting stale over such a long game. I COULD make it to where each party has a different style of fightiNG WAIT HOLD ON NO THAT MIGHT WORK HOLY SH--

The different parties are all from different planets (one's even from a different plane of existence), so that could TOTALLY work, both mechanically AND canonically! It would mean WAY more work, but I feel like it'd be worth it!


Back to top
© 2023-2024 Jade Thomas (Jadestrogen). Hosted by Neocities.
Nothing on this site may be used for training AI.
Background art by Artapixel from Pixabay.