FALL VICTIM TO MY RAMBLINGS

.: NAVIGATION :.

Home
About
Art
Music
>Blog<
Comms
Devlog
Profile
Ko-Fi
Back

February 29, 2024

It's still the 29th where I live, so LEAP DAY BLOG ENTRY TIME

...
...
...
...Yeah, I got nothin'. I just wanted to make an entry for today since I won't be able to do this again for another 4 years. Who knows, maybe I'll finally have made some progress in my transition by then?

(P.S.: Future me 4 years from now, please remember to follow up on this.)




February 28, 2024

So, I made a virtual machine for Windows XP a while back, right? And a thought popped into my mind just a little bit ago (I'm talking, like, 20-30 minutes, tops): Can I view - or even edit - my site using it?
Well, long story short: YES, I CAN DO BOTH. Granted it's running MUCH slower than what I'm used to, but it still works! In fact, here's a screenshot to prove it!

A screenshot of a Windows XP virtual machine running an old version of the website in Firefox.




February 27, 2024

POKÉMON LEGENDS Z-A WAS JUST ANNOUNCED
WE'RE GOING BACK TO KALOS
LET'S FUCKING GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

A little disappointed that nothing Unova-related was revealed, BUT I AM NOT DISAPPOINTED BY WHAT WE ENDED UP GETTING! I absolutely LOVED X and Y when those were first released, AND NOW WE'RE FINALLY GETTING A GAME CENTERED AROUND ZYGARDE!!




February 26, 2024

POKÉMON DAY IS TOMORROW, LET'S GOOOOOOOOOOO
Still hoping that something related to Unova is revealed, but like I said almost a week ago, I think I'd be happy with just about anything hajgkhfd

I WOULD say "hype responsibly", but let's be honest: This IS the Pokémon fandom we're talking about. Like, I get the criticisms about the more recent games, don't get me wrong, but I've seen enough toxic tirades to know EXACTLY how the fandom's gonna react tomorrow. People are gonna find SOMETHING to be unreasonably pissed off about, even if it's something as inconsequential as unpolished footage for a game THAT IS STILL IN DEVELOPMENT. (cough cough Legends Arceus reveal trailer cough cough)

Just let the devs COOK, for god's sake. Yeah, there's probably gonna be some iffy gameplay footage, but guess what? THE GAMES ARE STILL. IN. DEVELOPMENT. I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH. THE IN-PROGRESS GAMEPLAY FOOTAGE DOES NOT REPRESENT THE FINAL PRODUCT.




February 23, 2024

Posting this a little ahead of time bUT AAAAAAAAAAA MY BEST FRIEND SAID ONCE SHE GETS ANOTHER JOB AND SAVES UP SOME MONEY, SHE WOULD FLY ME OUT TO SEE HER
I'M SO EXCITED, Y'ALL HAVE NO IDEA
WE'VE BEEN BEST FRIENDS FOR ALMOST 8 YEARS AND WE'VE BEEN WANTING TO MEET UP FOR AGES NOW
AND NOW WE'RE ALMOST ABLE TO!!!!




February 22, 2024

Y'all, I feel old as hell now. FNaF is turning 10 this year, Undertale's turning 10 next year, and it is JUST NOW dawning on me that I've been working on the storyline for Gates of Aquarius for almost 10 years, too. I started writing out stuff for it in late 2016 before it was even CALLED Gates of Aquarius. Being reminded of my own mortality is NOT FUN HHHHHHH




February 21, 2024

Well, uhh... the Nintendo Direct was a lot less exciting than I thought it would be. The only things that really stood out to me were a BUNCH of Rareware games coming to the NES, SNES, and N64 apps, along with Mother 3 being released on the Japanese GBA app. Here's to hoping the Pokémon Direct on the 27th will be more exciting!




February 20, 2024

It's almost 6:30 in the morning where I live. I woke up somewhere between 4:30 and 5 and haven't been able to get back to sleep. I think I'm just gonna accept the fact that I'm probably not gonna be able to go back to sleep and grab some breakfast ghfdjkg

On another note, there's gonna be a Nintendo Direct tomorrow (along with a Pokémon Direct on Pokémon Day, but that one was pretty much a given), so there's that to look forward to!




February 19, 2024

JUST OVER A WEEK UNTIL POKÉMON DAY, LET'S GOOOOOOOO

I'm personally REALLY hoping that Unova remakes (or a new Legends game (Legends Kyurem, hopefully?)) is revealed, BUT I'll probably be happy with whatever's revealed! I'm not that hard to please, to be perfectly honest hgfusifsi

Heck, they could probably reveal a new Pokémon Ranger game, and I'd be happy. In fact, I'd be REALLY happy if a new Pokémon Ranger game was revealed, because I LOVED playing the original when I was a kid! I never really played Shadows of Almia or Guardian Signs, though, even despite Guardian Signs' main partner Pokémon being a PICHU WITH A UKULELE, AND PICHU IS MY FAVORITE POKÉMON OF ALL TIME. I should PROBABLY get around to playing it at some point ghuoihsdgf

In other news, I just finished updating the site's visuals! I think I need to change the table backgrounds to something that's a little darker to make reading the text a bit easier, but I still like how it looks!




February 15, 2024

Thinking about changing my username to something else. As for what I would change it to, I have NO idea.
...That's it. That's the post.




February 13, 2024

On today's episode of Finding Workarounds For Things I Can't Use Because Support For Windows 7 Is Ending Literally Everywhere™: RPG Maker XP is completely free on Steam right now! Which is great, BUT Steam ended support for Windows 7 at the beginning of this year. I WAS still able to add it to my library by logging into Steam with my new tablet, BUT I still can't actually install it on my computer unless I update Steam. Which I can't. Because then I'll be locked out of Steam forever until I eventually begrudgingly re-upgrade to Windows 10. Which I don't want to do. Because I am a Very Stubborn Bitch™.

But I had the idea of checking how much the standalone version of RPG Maker XP was... AND IT WAS ONLY $2.50. So yeah, I may or may not have two different versions of RPG Maker XP now ghfdijkg

So yeah, I've mainly just been messing around in XP today, and it's pretty similar to MV! Which... I mean, duh, they're both different versions of RPG Maker, so it's practically a guarantee that they're gonna be similar, but it's still nice being able to carry the things I learned in MV over to XP!




February 10, 2024

I'm back! For a little bit, at least. The main reason I came back was to add a button to my homepage. And on that note, feel free to show it off on your site if you want!

Anyway, taking a bit to be offline and just... decompress has been really nice. The only times I've really been online these past few days have been to talk to friends, check my email, and watch new videos from some of the YouTubers I'm subscribed to. Other than that, I've been staying away from EVERYTHING, and it's been a pretty good time!

Honestly, I may go back to being offline after I'm done updating my site for tonight. Once I'm back back, though, I'm considering adding a section on my homepage dedicated to other people's buttons that link to their sites!




February 7, 2024

Posting this a little ahead of time, but I think I'm gonna try to take a break from being online. I'm not in the greatest headspace right now, and being Terminally Online™ certainly hasn't helped with that, so don't expect any updates for at least the next few days.




February 6, 2024

There's a chance I might be able to apply for a job at my father's workplace! I asked him yesterday if there were any positions that I'd qualify for (mainly just out of curiosity), and he said that I should be qualified for a handful of beginner positions! It's definitely not what my first choice would've been, but if it means I can finally start saving up money to move out of this state, then I'm more than willing to give it a shot.




February 3, 2024

It feels like everything is ending support for Windows 7 and I hate it.

Look, I get it. Objectively speaking, Windows 7 is outdated as hell, and I really SHOULD be using a newer OS. That's just the smart thing to do. But, here's the thing: The last time I tried using Windows 10 on my computer (which was sometime last year), it would microstutter LITERALLY every five seconds. And no, that is NOT a hyperbole. When I say it microstuttered every five seconds, I MEAN it microstuttered every five seconds. Couple that with the overall worse performance, and I REALLY don't want to re-install Windows 10. And even if I wanted to install Windows 11, which I ALSO don't, I literally can't. My computer's missing something that is apparently required for Windows 11 to run.

So it's like, do I want to re-install Windows 10 and have everything up-to-date but deal with maddening performance issues, or do I stick with 7 and gradually lose access to literally everything? Or hell, potential third option: Do I just abandon Windows altogether, switch to Linux and learn how to use that instead? At this point, learning Linux feels like the best option.


Back to top
© 2023-2024 Jade Thomas (Jadestrogen). Hosted by Neocities.
Nothing on this site may be used for training AI.
Background art by Artapixel from Pixabay.