FALL VICTIM TO MY RAMBLINGS

.: NAVIGATION :.

Home
About
Art
Music
>Blog<
Comms
Devlog
Profile
Ko-Fi
Back

December 28, 2023

Went ahead and took my YouTube link off of the navigation bar. I mean, I'm not gonna be uploading anything to YouTube anymore, so what's the point of keeping it there, right?

Also, off-topic, but my older sister and her kids are coming out for a late Christmas celebration today, and uhh... I am NOT mentally prepared. I love the kids to death and I'd do anything for them, don't get me wrong, but I do NOT have the energy to keep up with them. Couple that with how easily I get overwhelmed by loud/constant noises, and I don't forsee myself doing too well.




December 24, 2023

A bit late to this, but happy holidays, everyone!!

Also, COMPLETELY off-topic, but if I can "rant" about something real quick: I have NO idea what brought this on, but I would MUCH rather have non-smart devices than... well, smart devices. I guess they'd be called dumb devices, then? I dunno. ANYWAY, I'm not kidding when I say I'd rather take an old-school Nokia 3310 over whatever the newest smartphone is ANY day of the week. Same goes for TVs. I'd much rather take an old CRT over a smart TV.

And the funny part about me saying that is I AIN'T EVEN THAT OLD. I JUST turned 24 back in September, and yet I sound like a freakin' BOOMER writing this out. Are "dumb" devices more inconvenient than smart devices? Admittedly, yes, but at the same time, it's their simplicity that draws me to them so much. I'd MUCH rather take that simplicity over having something like a YouTube app built into the TV. ESPECIALLY when I can just as easily use my TV as a monitor for my computer and just watch YouTube videos like that. Plus, I can use adblockers like that, which is ALWAYS a plus.

I also don't have to worry about my TV freaking CRASHING all the time because of an OS or an app that has questionable stability. My mom's smart TV has crashed SO many times that it would make my old Blue Screeners blush. Like, with a dumb TV, you know EXACTLY what you're getting: A TV. Nothing more, nothing less. Meanwhile, with a smart TV, you're essentially just getting a giant-ass tablet that may or may not be all that reliable. Plus, you'll probably have to worry about stuff like data collection, spying, drive space for apps, and probably a BUNCH of other stuff you would normally never even THINK about when it comes to a freaking TV.

...Either that, or I'm reading WAY too much into this, I dunno. Call me old-fashioned or stuck in the past or whatever, I just prefer older devices. That might be one of the reasons why I had such an obsession with older games when I was a teenager. I mean, watching AVGN all the time probably didn't help with that, either, but still. Like, for the longest time, I would play NOTHING but NES, SNES, and N64 games. Nowadays, I just play whatever looks fun; whether it's a new game, a retro game, or somewhere in the middle. I mean, come on, my favorite game of all time is Xenoblade 3, and that came out in 2022. Teenage me would PROBABLY have some choice words for me if I told her that. But hey, I suppose we all have phases like that where we SWEAR something's going to be our defining character trait for the rest of our lives, and then it just turns out it was just a phase. And then there are times where it's NOT just a phase and it IS something we carry with us for the rest of our lives aaaaaaand I'm going off on a tangent, aren't I?

I should probably end this off here before I ramble even more than I already have. So, happy holidays, everyone! Take care, stay safe, and be kind to each other!




December 17, 2023

I'm finally quitting YouTube. Not only is it just not fun for me anymore, but it's also been a source of stress for me.
In other news, I figured out how to get music working on my page without having to become a supporter on Neocities, so that's cool!




December 16, 2023

y'all please help i'm working on a design for a fake PDA that is TOTALLY not inspired by the PETs from Mega Man Battle Network and i'm putting WAY too much effort into it
like fr LOOK at this shit

A drawing of a fake handheld computer

i LEGIT used my Nintendo 64 as a reference for the extension port on the bottom of the freakin thing
i can feel my sanity slipping away as i write this because i KNOW i'm gonna wanna add more shit to this thing in the future

ANYWAY, my weird art antics aside, my brother and I got started on wrapping Christmas presents for our family today! (Technically yesterday, but eh.) I'm pretty sure there's still a few more packages on the way, but I'm not entirely sure. I think we're gonna work on getting the Christmas tree set up in the morning, so that'll be something to look forward to!

And in other news, I FINALLY BEAT MEGA MAN X4 AFTER, LIKE, 7 FREAKING YEARS
I AM ON CLOUD 9 RIGHT NOW


Back to top
© 2023-2024 Jade Thomas (Jadestrogen). Hosted by Neocities.
Nothing on this site may be used for training AI.
Background art by Artapixel from Pixabay.